Motor Vehicle Regulations and Parking
Welcome to the SUNY College of Agriculture and Technology at Cobleskill. This page is designed to assist you in using the facility. Please observe and obey all parking regulations and traffic laws. If you need additional information not contained on this page, or have any questions on safety matters, please call us at 5317 or stop in at the University Police Department in Johnson Hall [Northside of Route 7], or e-mail us at UNIPOL.
A complete copy of the parking regulations are available at the University Police Department.
I. Vehicle Registration - https://wlprod.cobleskill.edu:11101
Annual Registration is required of all students, faculty, and staff parking on university property.
Issue of Decal: All decals are issued at the University Police Department from 8:30 to 11:30 am and from 1 to 4 pm Monday through Friday.
Display of Decal: The decal must be displayed on the side window behind the operator, in the upper right corner with the number facing out.
Temporary Permits: All vehicles parked on campus MUST display some type of permit. If the vehicle does not have a permanent sticker affixed, a temporary permit must be obtained at the University Police Department from 8:30 to 11:30 am or from 1 to 4 pm.
Decals and permits are not transferable from one vehicle to another and must be affixed with their own adhesive. If you change vehicles during the time your permit is valid, a replacement is available at the University Police Department for a fee of $3.
A refund of the parking fee will be given upon request and proof of withdrawal from college during the first week of classes only.
II. Parking Assignment
Resident students must park only in areas which are assigned as follows:
Residents of Wieting and Vroman Halls must park in W Lot.
Residents of Davis and Parsons Halls must park in P Lot.
Residents of Pearson, Draper, Dix, Ten Eyck and Fake Halls must park in the F Lot.
If/when your assigned lot is full, you must park in the north end of the P Lot.
Commuter students must park in the C Lot - Commuter Lot. However, between 5PM and 3AM vehicles with a "C" permit may park in any visitor or faculty/staff parking area (except the area reserved for admissions visitors). If "C" Lot is full, commuter students must park in the "P" lot
Faculty and staff may park in any parking space, except those specifically reserved.
Temporarily disabled students may be issued a special two week only parking permit that allows parking in any legal parking area (except spaces reserved for the disabled as described below). Special permits are issued at the University Police Department and require a physician's certification.
In accordance with State Law, disabled parking spaces are reserved for vehicles displaying either disabled license plates, or a New York State Department of Motor Vehicles approved hang tag issued by a municipality.
III. Traffic & Parking Regulations
Laws in Effect: The Vehicle and Traffic Laws of the State of New York and the State University of New York traffic ordinances are in effect on College property
Speed Limit: The speed limit on campus property is 20 mph, unless otherwise posted.
Accidents: Motor vehicle accidents on College property must be reported to the SUNY Cobleskill University Police Department.
There is no parking at any time on campus roadways.
Parking anywhere on the grass is prohibited.
Vehicles must park between painted lines.
IV. Fines & Penalties
The person in whose name a vehicle is registered with the College is responsible for all traffic violations and is liable for all fines or disciplinary actions.
$15 for first violation;
$20 for second;
$25 for all subsequent violations.
All disabled violations are $50.
Violations should be paid at the Office of Student Accounts within 10 business days of issuance. Unpaid violations may be added to your semester bill and deducted from any refunds due. Violations remaining unpaid are submitted for collection where additional costs related to collection may be assessed.
Vehicles parked in tow-away zones, disabled zones, or parked inappropriately as determined by the University Police, may be towed at the owner's expense.
Vehicles that have been issued five violations are subject to being towed for any and all additional violations.
Parking violation appeals may be made by any person receiving a notice of violation within 10 business days from the date of issuance. After the 10 day period, the right to appeal expires and all violation charges and/or expenses incurred become automatically due and payable.
Appeals may be filed at the University Police Department in Johnson Hall. Click here to fill out and print the appeal form, you must bring the ticket and the appeal form to the University Police Department
Vehicle and Traffic Law Regulations are in effect at all times.
Buckle up - It's the law.
Stop D.W.I. - Friends don't let friends drive drunk.
Report all suspicious persons or vehicles seen around parking areas to University Police.
Keep your vehicle locked with the windows rolled up tight.
Always keep a spare set of keys inside your wallet or purse, not inside your vehicle where a thief can find them.
The college assumes no responsibility for the vehicles, its contents or for any situation resulting from bringing and operating the vehicle on campus. This includes any damage caused by towing a vehicle.